George Clinton, Gloria Gaynor & Doug E. Fresh Named National Museum of African American Music Honorees


George Clinton of George Clinton And Parliament Funkadelic performs at The Soundboard, Motor City Casino on March 8, 2018 in Detroit.

The National Museum of African American Music will close out Black Music Month 2019 by honoring icons George Clinton, Doug E. Fresh and Gloria Gaynor at its sixth annual Celebration of Legends Gala. The three artists will each receive the museum’s Rhapsody & Rhythm Award on Thursday at the Music City Center’s Karl Dean Ballroom in Nashville.

“The Rhapsody & Rhythm honorees span the breadth of African-American music, representing disco, hip-hop and funk,” said NMAAM President and CEO H. Beecher Hicks III in a release announcing the gala. “Their artistry is innovative and influential, carrying an impact that can still be felt today.”

Performers Louis York, the Shindellas and Mr. Talkbox will pay tribute to funk pioneer Clinton, whose Parliament-Funkadelic crew received the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award earlier this year. Fresh, nicknamed the “Original Human Beatbox,” will be saluted in performance by Fatman Scoop and DJ Mars. Gaynor, best known for the 1978 classic “I Will Survive,” will be feted by singer-songwriter Avery Sunshine.

The NMAAM Celebration of Legends Gala will be hosted by Grammy-winning producer Shannon Sanders.